SOP Payatas Uno Day 1

Today, July 14 2012, my mentoring group and I went to Payatas Uno. This experience was new to me because I have never really been to a house quite like that before. I was assigned to the family of Ate Reya. She was very kind and hospitable in that she didn’t make me do many chores. At first, it was a bit awkward talking to them since I thought I might offend them if I spoke too carelessly. However, after a while, I warmed up to them and started talking to Ate Reya’s children. I then proceeded to teach her children Math and before I left, they treated me to a serving of sinigang.

My stay with Ate Reya’s family was a very engaging experience. I felt out of place at first since I thought we wouldn’t be able to hit it off. However, after warming up, I felt happy as I was able to teach and help the children of Ate Reya. At the end of the day, I felt happy and fulfilled.

I learned, through this first day of SOP, how differences in social class should not affect the way we interact with other people. I learned that just because somebody else is different from me, doesn’t mean I can’t be friends with them.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

